Muramvya is a province in the center-west of Burundi, located between the two capitals Bujumbura and Gitega. This province is characterized by a strong demographic explosion of which more than 95% live on agriculture.

It is dominated by many Batwa who are very poor, uneducated, marginalized, and discriminated against, and always live apart from others in extreme poverty. This marginalization means that they continue to live in a social inferiority that undermines their dignity as human beings.

The Muramvya Integrated Mission Center for Batwa and Other Vulnerable People (CMIBV) started in 2008 with 65 identified vulnerable beneficiary families. Currently we serve 225 beneficiary families. In 225 families we have 142 couples, 62 widows, 15 widowers and 6 orphans. Harvest Initiatives supports Batwa families in Masango, Nyagisozi, Gikonge, Mpira and Nyarukere.

 These Batwa families do not have sufficient land for cultivation, as many of them own small plots. Meeting the food needs of these Batwa populations is regrettable. The clay used for the traditional craft of pottery is no longer available, blacksmithing and basketry have not evolved over time, resulting in low purchasing power leading to extreme poverty. These are the factors that explain the poor living conditions in which these Batwa families of Muramvya live.

Education: 152 students are supported for school fees and materials.

Health Care: 225 families are covered for health care. 

Nutrition: 132 children take porridge every morning

Housing: all families have their own houses.

Empowerment: 3 NDUZA NKUDUZE savings and credit associations, which facilitates them to practice agro-pastoral and borrow money to do small business.

Muramvya est une Province du Centre Ouest du Burundi, situé entre deux capitale Bujumbura et Gitega. Cette province est caractérisée par une forte explosion démographique dont plus de 95 % vivent de l’agriculture.

Elle est dominée par beaucoup de Batwa très pauvre, non scolarisés, marginalisés, discriminés et habitent toujours à l’écart des autres dans la pauvreté extrême. Cette marginalisation fait qu’ils continuent à vivre dans une infériorité sociale portant atteinte à leur dignité d’être humain.

Le Centre de la Mission Intégrée des Batwa et autres Vulnérables de Muramvya (CMIBV) a commencé en 2008 et comptait 65 familles bénéficiaires vulnérables identifiées. Actuellement nous servons 225 familles bénéficiaires. Dans 225 familles nous avons 142 couples , 62 veuves, 15 veufs et 6 Orphelins. Harvest Initiatives soutiennent les familles Batwa de Masango, Nyagisozi, Gikonge, Mpira et Nyarukere.

 Ces familles Batwa n’ont pas de terres cultivables suffisant car beaucoup d’entre eux possèdent de parcelles exiguës. La satisfaction des besoins alimentaires chez ces populations Batwa est regrettable. L’argile utilisée pour le métier traditionnel de poterie n’est plus disponible, la forge et la vannerie n’ont pas évolué avec le temps et s’en suit une faiblesse du pouvoir d’achat conduisant à l’extrême pauvreté. Et voilà les facteurs explicatifs de mauvaises conditions de vie dans lesquelles ces familles Batwa de Muramvya vivent.

Education: 152 élèves  sont appuyé pour les frais scolaire et les  matériels scolaires.

Soins de santé : 225 familles sont prises en charges pour les soins de santé. 

Nutrition : 132 enfants prennent  de la bouillie chaque matin.

Habitat : toutes les familles possèdent leurs propres maisons.

Autonomisation: 3 associations d’épargne de crédits NDUZA NKUDUZE, ce qui leur facilites de pratiquer l’agro-pastorale et emprunter de l’argent pour faire de petits commerce.