Batwa and other vunerable community of BUTIHINDA

The Commune Butihinda is one of 7 communes in the province of Muyinga. The missionary center of Butihinda was born in 2011 by the program of evangelization and mission in the perspective of reaching the miners. In 2014 we started to serve the Batwa community of Gahararo. In this Batwa community, we started with 72 families.

We met with the Batwa community, who lack the cultivable land and are unable to invest in commerce like other residents of the commune. Their children drop out of school and often become bandits in the neighborhood. Sometimes in Batwa families there are early marriages and incest due to promiscuity in the houses following bad behavior. 

Harvest Initiatives' interventions

After noticing the problems in which the Batwa families of the Butihinda commune live, in particular those of the BUVUMBI zone, we had the idea of supporting these vulnerable people through projects to improve the living conditions of Batwa families and other vulnerable people.

 The focus is on agriculture and on the supervision of Batwa and other vulnerable associations in this commune. Thanks to these projects, we hope that the living conditions of these Batwa families and other vulnerable people will be changed.

EDUCATION

189 students are supported for school fees and materials

HEALTH CARE

68 families are provided with health care and more than 500 families receive clean water as a result of the community's water supply.

NUTRITION

275 children take porridge every morning.

HABITAT

70 families got houses instead of huts that caused deadly fires at any time.

EMPOWERMENT

The community is grouped in 8 NDUZA NKUDUZE savings and credit associations, which allows them to practice agropastoral activities and borrow money for small projects.

EVANGELISM

Evangelism is done through several approaches:

  • sharing Good news in clubs for children;
  • Youth clubs for evangelism
  • Soccer teams;
  • Outreach to families or to gold mining sites;
  • Charity works.

Communauté Batwa et autres Vulnérables de BUTIHINDA

La Commune Butihinda est l’une de 7 communes de la province de Muyinga. Le centre missionnaire de Butihinda a eu naissance en 2011 par le programme d’évangélisation et mission dans la perspective d’atteindre les miniers. En 2014 on a commercé à servir la communauté Batwa de Gahararo. Dans cette communauté Batwa,  on a commencé avec 72 familles.

On a rencontré la communauté Batwa qui manque des terres cultivable, incapable d’investir dans le commerce comme d’autres habitant de la commune. Leurs enfants abandonnent l’école et souvent deviennent des bandits dans le voisinage. Parfois dans les familles Batwa il y a des mariages précoces et d’inceste  dus à la promiscuité dans les maisons suite aux mauvais comportements. 

Les intervention de Harvest Initiatives

Après avoir constaté les problèmes dans lesquelles les familles Batwa de la commune Butihinda en particulier celles de la zone BUVUMBI vivent, on a eu l’idée d’appuyer  ces Vulnérables  à travers les projets d’appui à l’amélioration des conditions de vie des familles Batwa et autres vulnérables de la commune Butihinda.

 L’accent est mis sur l’agriculture et sur l’encadrement des associations des Batwa et autres vulnérables de cette commune. Grace à ces projets, on espère que les conditions de vie de ces familles Batwa et autres vulnérables seront changé car ils visent à améliorer les conditions de vie des familles Batwa et autres Vulnérables de la commune Butihinda.

EDUCATION

189 élèves sont appuyé pour les frais et les matériels scolaire

SOINS DE SANTE

68 familles sont prises en charges pour les soins de santé et plus de 500 familles reçoivent de l’eau potable suite a l’adduction d’eau dans la communauté.

NUTRITION

275 enfants prennent de la bouillie chaque matin dans les jours ouvrable.

HABITAT

70 familles ont eu des maisons à la place de huttes qui provoquaient des incendies mortels à tout moment.

AUTONOMISATION

La communauté est groupée dans 8 associations d’épargne et crédits NDUZA NKUDUZE ; ce qui leur permette et facilite de pratiquer l’agropastorale et emprunter de l’argent pour faire des petit projets.

EVANGELISATION

L’évangélisation se fait à travers plusieurs approches:

  • Les clubs de la bonne nouvelle pour les enfants;
  • Les clubs de jeunes pour les jeunes;
  • Les équipes de football;
  • Les visites ou sortie d’évangélisation dans les familles ou sur les sites de gisement de l’or;
  • Les œuvres charitable.